Warning: Microsoft Windows Update email is phishing scam

Scam targets AOL, Gmail, Yahoo and Windows Live users
Author:
Publish date:
4-microsoft_new_logo_web.jpg

If you receive an email from privacy@microsoft.com, delete it.

IT security firm Sophos has posted details of the scam on its Naked Security blog warning that emails from this address are part of a phishing scam which is designed to steal AOL, Gmail, Yahoo or Windows Live passwords.

With the subject line ‘Microsoft Windows Update’, the email attempts to get the recipient to verify their email account to update their Microsoft records.

Here’s how the email reads:

Dear Windows User,

It has come to our attention that your Microsoft windows Installation records are out of date. Every Windows installation has to be tied to an email account for daily update.

This requires you to verify the Email Account. Failure to verify your records will result in account suspension. Click on the Verify button below and enter your login information on the following page to confirm your records.

VERIFY

Thank you,

Microsoft Windows Team.

If you do click on the ‘VERIFY' link, you will be taken to a third part website, which is not the real Microsoft.com, and encouraged to log in via your AOL, Gmail, Yahoo or Windows Live account to update your details – and if you do, we’re pretty sure your password will end up in the hands of someone who is not from the Microsoft Windows Team.

Want to receive up-to-the-minute tech news straight to your inbox? Then click here to sign up for the completely free PCR Daily Digest and Newsflash email services. You can also follow PCR on Twitter and Facebook.

Related