Facebook bug discovered that creates un-deletable wall posts

Site is said to be investigating the issue
Author:
Publish date:
6-facebook_logo_web.jpg

A recently found bug creates wall posts that can never be deleted.

These un-deletable posts are created when you block a person on Facebook. It happens because once you’ve blocked someone they can no longer see content you’ve posted on the site, including posts you’ve put on their wall.

Although the pop up box that appears when blocking someone reads “Blocking means you won’t be able to see or contact each other on Facebook” – all the content between you is not deleted, just made invisible to the two of you.

This means posts between the two blocked people are able to be viewed by friends of either party but not the account holders themselves.

These posts can’t be deleted unless the two become friends again.

Who knows how this vulnerability could be exploited. Unless you are warned by your friends of a post on your page, you would never know it is there.

Facebook is said to be currently investigating this bug.

Want to receive up-to-the-minute tech news straight to your inbox? Then click here to sign up for the completely free PCR Daily Digest and Newsflash email services. You can also follow PCR on Twitter and Facebook.

Related