Apple WWDC 2015: What to expect and where to watch the livestream

Author:
Publish date:
Social count:
0
apple-wwdc-main-ITCE.jpg

Apple is back for another Worldwide Developers Conference in San Francisco today, and while many are awaiting details on a new music streaming service, there is expected to be a number of announcements that will be of interest to businesses.

iOS 9

Alongside Apple’s Spotify rival, the firm is set to unveiled iOS 9 for iPhone and iPad.

One of the most interesting rumours that we’ve heard about the new mobile operating system is that iOS 9 will be able to run more efficiently on older devices.

One of the biggest problems businesses face when a new iOS is launched is finding their older generation iPhones and iPads start to slow down and get buggy. We all know how important mobile devices are in the workplace these days, and how expensive replacing a fleet of them can be, so the news that businesses may be able to securely hang on to older devices for longer can only be a good thing.

Mac OS X

Mac OS X should be getting a few updates, most importantly, security updates. It is rumoured that OS X 10.11 will have a feature called ‘rootless’, which is a new kernel level security system to protect MacBooks, iMacs and the likes against malware.

Reports also suggest any connection with non-trusted Wi-Fi routers will be highly encrypted. There is also expected to be a number of bug fixes and optimisation improvements.

Transit

The firm could be making some big changes to Apple Maps, which has come under fire a number of times since its launch for inaccuracies. Transit will allow users to navigate rail, subway and bus services. If Apple can get this right, and vastly improve Maps in general, we may not need the Google Maps app anymore…

Apple Watch

It seems very likely that Apple will talk about its first smartwatch. And seeing as many believe wearable tech is going to make a big impact in the business sector, it’s good to hear that Apple is rumoured to be unveiling a new software kit allowing developers to create new apps for the Apple Watch. We predict that a lot of security vendors will be getting on board with this news. Check out what a number of security firms had to say about the state of today’s business security and how important mobile devices are in the workplace in our recent InfoSec 2015 analysis piece.

WWDC 2015 will take place from June 8th to 12th at the conference’s usual home – Moscone West, San Francisco.

The keynote will kick off at 6pm GMT (10am PT, 1pm ET, 7pm CET) and those who aren’t able to see the events unfold in person can watch the livestream via apple.com/live using Safari on OS X or iOS. The event can also be viewed on Apple TV via the Apple Events app.

Related