5 things to expect from Apple WWDC 2015

Find out how to watch the opening keynote live
Author:
Publish date:
1-apple-wwdc-2015-web.jpg

Apple is back for another Worldwide Developers Conference in San Francisco today.

Apple Streaming Service
The most hotly tipped announcement for today’s event is a Spotify-killing streaming service.

Rumours have been doing the rounds since Apple paid £1.8bn for Beats and online streaming service Beats Music last year. It is thought the new service is likely to use a $10 per month subscription model and may offer a three-month free trial.

iOS 9
Alongside Apple’s Spotify rival, the firm is set to unveiled iOS 9 for iPhone and iPad.

One of the most interesting rumours that we’ve heard about the new mobile operating system is that iOS 9 will be able to run more efficiently on older devices.

Apple Watch
It seems very likely that Apple will talk about its first smartwatch. The firm is rumoured to be unveiling a new software kit allowing developers to create new apps for the Apple Watch.

Mac OS X
It is rumoured that OS X 10.11 will have a feature called ‘rootless’, which is a new kernel level security system to protect MacBooks, iMacs and the likes against malware.

Reports also suggest any connection with non-trusted Wi-Fi routers will be highly encrypted. There is also expected to be a number of bug fixes and optimisation improvements.

Transit for Apple Maps
The firm could be making some big changes to Apple Maps, which has come under fire a number of times since its launch for inaccuracies. Transit will allow users to navigate rail, subway and bus services.

WWDC 2015 will take place from June 8th to 12th at the conference’s usual home – Moscone West, San Francisco.

The keynote will kick off at 6pm GMT (10am PT, 1pm ET, 7pm CET) and those who aren’t able to see the events unfold in person can watch the livestream via apple.com/live using Safari on OS X or iOS. The event can also be viewed on Apple TV via the Apple Events app.

Related