Pioneers of the modern day internet receive first award of its kind

Internet creators awarded Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

The foundation responsible for the creation of the internet is to be presented with the first Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering.

Tim Berners-Lee, Vint Cerf, Robert Kahn and Marc Andreessen collaborated to produce the technology that exists today as the internet, including the creation of packet-switching, WWW protocols and the Mosaic browser, all of which made the creation possible.

The four men, who were awarded the prize back in March, will collect their individual awards today, in addition to a share of the award’s £1 million reward.

In addition to the presentation, the Royal Academt of Engineering today published a report called "Skill for the Nation" that reveals the demand for skilled engineers and other individuals is outweighed by supply.

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Enginnering is designed to encourage more people to take an interest in the field, and it is hoped the award will work to alleviate the demand for skilled individuals.

Amongst the firms funding the prize are BAE Systems, BG Group, BP, GlaxoSmithKline, Jaguar Land Rover, National Grid, Shell, Siemens UK, Sony, Tata ConsultancY Services, Tata Steel and Toshiba.

Check Also

Gemserv Acquired by Talan Group

Expert professional services firm Gemserv has been acquired by Talan, an International Consulting Group in …